Cardiothoracic & vascular anesthesia

Perioperative Tracking of Intravenous Iron in Patients Undergoing On-Pump Cardiac Surgery: A Prospective, Single-Center Pilot Trial

Anesth AnalgPublished Prospective pilot trial

Authors' conclusion

The data generate the hypotheses that nearly all FCM is incorporated into iron stores with administration ≥48 hours before surgery. When FCM is given <48 hours of surgery, the majority is incorporated into iron stores by the time of surgery, although a small amount may be lost during surgical bleeding with limited recovery by cell salvage.

Study context

Population
Anemic (hemoglobin ≤12/13 g/dL in women and men) and control patients undergoing elective on-pump cardiac surgery13 anemic, 10 control
Exposure
Ferric carboxymaltose (FCM) <48 hours vs ≥48 hours before surgery
Outcome
FCM tracking before, during and after cardiac surgery with CPB, emphasis on intraoperative iron losses in shed blood and recovery by cell salvage
Methodological detailssingle-centre, FCM measured by liquid chromatography–inductively coupled plasma-mass spectrometry, Blood sampled before surgery and at days 0, 1, 3 and 7; one sample each of CPB, cell salvage RBC concentrate and disposal bag
  • Single-centre
  • FCM measured by liquid chromatography–inductively coupled plasma-mass spectrometry
  • Blood sampled before surgery and at days 0, 1, 3 and 7; one sample each of CPB, cell salvage RBC concentrate and disposal bag

Main finding

As reported in the abstract

FCM serum levels

FCM <48 hours

52.9

median · IQR 13.0–91.6

≥48 hours

2.1

median · IQR 0.7–5.1 · µg/mL

P = 0.008

Observational data: associations, not effects.

Further findings

FCM incorporated (of 500 mg)

OutcomeFCM <48 hours≥48 hours
Change in plasma FCM concentration after surgery−27.1 (range −30–-5.9) µg/mL— not stated in the abstract
FCM in cell salvage disposal bag4.2 (range 3.0–25.8) µg/mL
Total29.0 [19.0-40.7] mg— not stated in the abstract
Share of 500 mg administered5.8% or 1/17th— not stated in the abstract
FCM in autologous RBC concentrate0.1 (range 0.0–0.43) µg/mL— not stated in the abstract

— not stated in the abstract

Original publication

Perioperative Tracking of Intravenous Iron in Patients Undergoing On-Pump Cardiac Surgery: A Prospective, Single-Center Pilot Trial. Anesth Analg. Published 17 February 2023. doi:10.1213/ane.0000000000006372

Composed by AI from the published abstract and checked against it. How Briefs are made →

Get them every week

New studies on this topic in My Week and in your Monday e-mail.

We e-mail you a sign-in link and a code. No password, no spam.